Begone Unbelief – Lori Sealy

Here is a great song to sing or listen to in the midst of trials or at any time for that matter. It’s a slightly modified version of a hymn originally written by John Newton. Below are the original words.

Begone, unbelief,
My Savior is near,
And for my relief
Will surely appear;
By prayer let me wrestle,
And He will perform;
With Christ in the vessel,
I smile at the storm.

Though dark be my way,
Since He is my Guide,
‘Tis mine to obey,
‘Tis His to provide;
Though cisterns be broken,
And creatures all fail,
The word He hath spoken
Shall surely prevail.

His love, in time past,
Forbids me to think
He’ll leave me at last
In trouble to sink:
Each sweet Ebenezer
I have in review
Confirms His good pleasure
To help me quite through.

Why should I complain
Of want or distress,
Temptation or pain?
He told me no less;
The heirs of salvation,
I know from His Word,
Through much tribulation
Must follow their Lord.

How bitter that cup
No heart can conceive,
Which He drank quite up,
That sinners might live!
His way was much rougher
And darker than mine;
Did Christ, my Lord, suffer,
And shall I repine?

Since all that I meet
Shall work for my good,
The bitter is sweet,
The medicine, food;
Though painful at present,
‘Twill cease before long,
And then, oh, how pleasant
The conqueror’s song!

6 responses to this post.

  1. What an incredible song! I love old hymns set to new tunes (though I’m not familiar with the original tune)

    Reply

  2. Hello Keith,

    How are you doing? Hope all is well. Reading the last verse of the song I am reminded how quickly I forget this world isn’t all there is. Blessings,

    Eden

    Reply

    • Posted by Keith on November 6, 2010 at 9:06 am

      Hi Eden,

      Thanks for stopping by. Yes I need regular reminders of that too. It’s easy to put my hopes in God’s gifts rather than in God alone. I’m doing okay – no real progress physically yet but other encouraging things have been happening, more than I can really explain here. God is good.

      Reply

  3. Hi Keith,

    Just happened to run across your posting of “Begone Unbelief.” Wanted to thank you for linking to the tune. I have a new CD that will be released in the next few months – the tile song is…yes..”Begone Unbelief.” Hope you will keep an eye out for it.

    In His glorious grace,
    Lori

    Reply

Leave a Reply

