Why?

Psalm 44:24-26

Why do You hide Your face
And forget our affliction and our oppression?
For our soul has sunk down into the dust;
Our body cleaves to the earth.
Rise up, be our help,
And redeem us for the sake of Your loving-kindness.

About a year and a half ago someone asked me, in relation to my illness whether I found myself asking why?  At the time I rather confidently asserted that I knew why – that God was doing this for my sanctification.   Funnily enough as things got harder in the weeks and months that followed I found myself often asking why.  If it was for my sanctification, why couldn’t God sanctify me more quickly?  Why did things need to be so hard and often seem so hopeless?

In the past I think I felt that it was somehow wrong to say such things to God.  But of course you can’t pretend with God.  If I’m confused and wishing I knew why God was acting a certain way, but I refrain from expressing those thoughts to him then I’m really just playing a silly game.  He knows what I’m thinking anyway, so trying to hide it from him is not likely to get me very far.  He wants me as his child to tell him all that’s in my heart.

It isn’t wrong to ask God why as long as we continue to look to him and trust him.   It’s simply being honest with him.  But what do you do when you’re confused about God’s dealings and you’ve poured out your heart and God seems to be silent?   The truth I come back to again and again and the truth the psalmist here rests upon, is the character of God, his loving-kindness.   Regardless  of whether I get the answer I desire I keep looking to him for help because of the greatness of his loving-kindness.

Leave a Reply

