Fear and Hope

“When I am afraid I will put my trust in you.”  – Psalm 56:3

When I am afraid I am often dismayed by my lack of faith and trust in God.  I conclude that if I were really trusting in God I would not be fearful in the first place.  The psalmist sees these things  as coexisting, or perhaps more precisely, he sees hope rising in the midst of fear.  Calvin points out that hope lies idle unless it is in the presence of some fear, danger or discouragement.  Therefore trusting God doesn’t mean we will never be afraid, it means putting our hope in him when we are afraid.

I am  afraid of many things.  Sometimes I am afraid of being lonely but I hope in God who promises never to leave or forsake me.  Other times I am afraid that my  suffering will just keep getting worse but I hope in God who says that ‘if he causes grief he will have compassion for he does not willingly afflict the sons of men.’  Still other times I fear that people may get tired of looking after me  but I hope in God who says ‘if your mother and father forsake you the Lord will take you up.’  And then there is my greatest fear.  There are times when I am afraid of dying  but I hope in God who raises the dead.  I hope in the God and father of our Lord Jesus Christ who was dead and now he is alive forever.  When I am afraid, by God’s grace, I will trust in him.  And you know what? I find that when I do this, when I look to God in this way, recalling and believing his promises, I am not so afraid anymore.

“In God, whose word I praise,
In God I have put my trust;
I shall not be afraid.” – Psalm 56:4

2 responses to this post.

  1. Thank you for this post Keith. May God give you joy. In Him,
    Eden

    Reply

    • Posted by Weak Keith on March 1, 2010 at 10:06 pm

      You’re very welcome Eden. And thank you for your post today. I read it before I wrote this one. I hadn’t noticed the verses that follow – very encouraging. Where would we be without the comfort and consolation of God’s word? He is so gracious. God’s peace and joy to you also.
      Keith

      Reply

Leave a Reply

