Chumbawamba and real hope

‘I get knocked down but I get up again, you’re never going to keep me down.’ So goes the well known line of Chumbawamba’s most popular hit. For many people however it would be a truer description of their lives to say, ‘I get up but get knocked down again, you’re never going to keep me up.’

In my own life I’ve found that the extent to which this latter description applies to me is very much connected to where I place my hopes. While I’ve been unwell these past two years, I’ve often made the mistake of putting my hope in getting better. I would have a couple good days and think I was possibly on the mend. This would be followed by further deterioration, which inevitably meant that my spirit went up and down like a yo-yo. As long as my hope is placed in a return to health I find that I am very apt to become anxious or depressed.

On the other hand when I focus on Christ and the certainty of his resurrection and the fact that I am united to him by faith I can tolerate all kinds of circumstances far more comfortably. The only way to really be a person who gets knocked down but gets up again is to make sure that I put my hope in a place where it can never fail. If my hope is in my health it must fail, because I am mortal. If it is in money, that must fail because I can’t take it with me when I die. If it’s in the things I do or accomplish then that must fail because eventually I won’t be able to do those things anymore. There is only one hope that will not ultimately fail and that is hope in the resurrected living Christ. He is the only living hope. All other hopes are dying – they get up but get knocked down again and again and again and eventually fail to rise.

Now I don’t want to give the impression that when I place my hope in Christ I never experience pain or deep discouragements. If anything scripture teaches that Christians get knocked down more than most. They are united to Christ and therefore they suffer with him, but… they will also rise with him! They get knocked down but by God’s grace, they get up again and again and again and eventually they will rise to eternal life.

3 responses to this post.

  1. I went through a period of extended illness myself. I wish I had given things over to Christ more completely as you have, but He brought me through it and I know there is something amazing coming. May He also give you your something amazing. In Him,

    Reply

    • Posted by Weak Keith on February 24, 2010 at 3:17 am

      Thank you for your kind words Eden. I find it helpful being reminded that I’m not alone. I just had a quick look at your blog and will probably make a habit of reading it when I can. You write really well and God has obviously taught you a lot through your suffering. May he keep teaching you and making you more and more like Christ. In Him, Keith

      Reply

Leave a Reply

